8 things you didn’t know about me

January 4, 2008

David Jones, from the PR Works blog and the Inside PR podcast, has tagged me on the “8 things you didn’t know about me” meme circulating the blogosphere.

Here’s the scoop:

  • I run the half event in the Manitoba Marathon every year.
  • I belong to a book club comprising mostly former/present child welfare workers but we try not to read about the subject.
  • I love sauerkraut but I have to practically eat it in secret because my husband hates even the smell of it.
  • One of my professional “highs” was delivering a presentation at the United Nations on sexually exploited youth and the way the media portrays the issue.
  • I’ve been spelunking in a South Dakota cave, snorkeling in Cuba, hot air ballooning in Arizona and had the fastest ride of my life lugeing at Calgary Olympic Park.
  • People make fun of my extremely disciplined, structured life but personally, I think everyone would be happier if they ate certain breakfast foods on particular days of the week, went grocery shopping every Thursday and cleaned the house on Wednesdays. Friday’s are planned, unstructured days, by the way.
  • I’m an introvert who enjoys socializing but I always needs to balance it with a good amount of time alone.
  • My guilty pleasure music of choice is funk/disco from the 70’s.

Now, I’m tagging Sean Yeomans and Beth Kanter.

6 Responses to “8 things you didn’t know about me”

  1. messagecom Says:

    Bonjour Michelle,

    Nice to meet you over the blogosphere!

    Thanks for checking out my blog. I’ve taken a quick look at yours and added it to my Google Reader feed. Your French content will give me a chance to exercise my reading comprehension–much better than my ability to speak French. 🙂

    I’m sure we’ll chat again.

    Deborah


  2. Hi Deborah

    Am listening to Inside PR no. 96 and was interested to hear your comments – it led me to discover your blog, which I’ve now perused and happily added to my own blogroll.

    A portion of my own clientele comes from the non profit sector, including Montreal’s St Vincent de Paul Society and Moisson Montréal (Canada’s largest food bank) and I look forward to reading some more.

    All the best

    From Montreal, in North America’s eastern geographical region

    Michelle Sullivan

  3. messagecom Says:

    Thanks Terry. I have to say that although a I have seen a few bloggers disparage the “8 things you didn’t know about me” meme as link bait, I’ve enjoyed reading them. You’re right, it adds the social aspect to blogging.

  4. Terry Fallis Says:

    Great to learn a bit more about you Deborah. It’s helps put the “social” in “social media.” Thanks for your contributions to IPR.

  5. messagecom Says:

    That’s fair, Beth. I am continually surprised at how much people reveal about themselves online. The introvert in me even agonized over revealing the benign 8 items I ended up listing.

  6. Beth Kanter Says:

    You know what .. Ive been online so long and tend to be extrovert online – that I don’t I have any secrets left!


Leave a Reply

